• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Question about drum lessons

Started by Steve "Smitty" Smith, February 13, 2010, 04:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve "Smitty" Smith

Hi Bart,

I could really use some advice and input from you and the other pros on this site that provide one-on-one drum instruction.  My drum teacher has fallen into a pattern of rescheduling my lessons and not being good about keeping in contact about the new lesson days and times. This was getting very frustrating, especially since I'm paying $100+ per month.  As a result, I canceled.  I'm new to taking lessons, so here's my question.  Are frequent re-schedules and cancellations common in the drum instruction business?  Might I have pulled the plug in reaction to something that's a typical part of taking drum instruction?  In my profession, a pattern of meeting reschedules and cancellations would result in lost business.  Should I expect anything less in the business of drum lessons – even if the teacher is highly in-demand?

Thanks for any input you can provide.

Smitty

Bart Elliott

Interesting situation. I understand your frustration; it's certainly understandable.

There are a number of things at play here, so let me break it down for you.

First, professional courtesy is always to give (at least) 24-hours notice when rescheduling and/or canceling. Many professionals, regardless of their field of expertise, require more notice than 24-hours. Socially speaking, it's basic courtesy to keep a schedule and not break a commitment. There's always going to be emergencies and times when you have to reschedule, however habitually breaking a commitment and/or rescheduling is not cool ... let alone professional.