• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Beginners playing with other musicians

Started by adam, March 13, 2004, 06:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adam

Hello, I've been playing drums off and on for about a year now (I don't have access to them all the time) and occasionally I jam with a few friends who play guitar. When we play, I find that I make a lot more mistakes than I do when playing by myself. I'll try to think of a creative fill and I'll mess it up completely or I'll end up losing my place. I feel limited to the simplest grooves and I'll repeat them all the time. I try to improvise while playing but whatever I try usually messes up the entire groove.

I realize that I am still a beginner, but is this a common problem that is overcome with experience or should I be focusing on a certain aspect of my playing? Any help would be appreciated, thanks! -Adam

random

when you're noticing you're not doing so hot, you're working to correct it, and so you're getting better.  keep playing with other musicians, it's the most enjoyable method of learning.

Matt Self (Gaddabout)

Adam, there tons of things you could do, but I also think it's important to identify why you're freezing up. My guess is a couple of things: you're tense when you play with other musicians and you're body hasn't worked out enough freedom to allow you to play what you hear.

The latter comes with time and practice. So does the former, but you could also do a little mentle exercise the might help you in the interim: relax, have fun and don't worry about trying to impress them with fills and other stuff. Just lay it down and don't stray for now. Take more chances after you've totally mastered them by yourself in your practice.

Chris Whitten

You probably push yourself and are more critical of yourself when playing with other musicians. Although unpleasant, I'd say it's a good thing. Just try not to get yourself down.