• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Durable Splash Cymbal

Started by WintryGrey, July 01, 2002, 06:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WintryGrey

Hey Bart, you've got a nice Board here, I just signed in, and since I'm on kindof an emergency I decided I'd ask an expert.

I've been playing for about 5 years now, about a year or so I decided to buy an Splash, and my father bought it for me on my b-day. He doesn't know much about cymbals so he got me the first he could get. He bought me a AAX Sabian Splash 8".

During my last rehearsal I noticed the cymbal was cracking (I use it very, very often) and it's all broken now. I'm planning on getting a new one, so I want you to recommend me one durable splash. I read in Sabian's homepage that my splash broke because I was htting it very hard, meaning that I was looking for a bigger sound, and they recommend that I should get a wider and thicker Splash. I think the best choice would be AAX 10" Metal Splash from Sabian, but it's pretty expensive, and I don't have much experience about other cymbals that aren't Sabian, so in your proffesional opinion what would you recommend?

Bart Elliott

I use SABIAN cymbals exclusively and have been very happy with them for the past 12 years. I currently use the Sabian AAX 8 and 10 inch splashes.

I didn't know that Sabian offered the AAX Metal versions for splashes; I thought they only had 16 and 18 crashes. The splashes used to just be generic AAX, not series specific such as Studio, Stage or Metal. If they offer a Metal version in the splashes, you might want to check into that. The AAX cymbals are unique in that they are made while the metal is in a cold state, which allows the cymbal to be very thin (and sounds great), but has the strength of a thicker cymbal.