• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

Don't quit your day job

Started by chillman4130, March 29, 2006, 07:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chip Donaho

Work full time in a factory/warehouse that builds shooting ranges. I owned a roofing company for several years. Once in a while I'll still do a little of that. Play in 3 bands....One band plays regular gigs every week. I sometimes  freelance doing studio work. The other band is just starting to get gigs. I also work at motocross tracks during the spring/summer as a racing official. The warehouse job covers medical insurance, but it's just another job.   :P  I'd rather play music all the time, but couldn't afford medical coverage for the wife and myself. I couldn't afford the fistfull of medicine she takes. I'm pretty much a workaholic that does several jobs.
"Work sucks, and then you die."    ;D      :-X

JamesC

Wow, lots of engineers here!

I'm a mechanical design engineer.  I love drumming, but fortunately I love engineering also.  A year ago I went out completely on my own, doing freelance mechanical design / engineering consulting work.

check me out at www.precisionmechanicaldesign.com

Doing freelance engineering work seems to be a happy medium for me between the drumming lifestyle and engineering lifestyle.  I'm caught between these sort of two extremes.

I haven't done nearly as much drumming as I'd like to lately, but I'm happy to say I have a beautiful baby boy and wonderful wife, and the engineering life is going well.

I seem to drum just enough to make it seem like the funnest (I know, that's not a word) thing in the world every time I sit down behind my drums.  Lately, that's been about once/month on Sundays at church.

I may be getting together with a pre-existing group shortly, however.  They're professionals (not professional musicans) also, so they have similar musical aspirations (some good quality playing, with once/month or so gigs).

sleepybrIghteyez

Louis Russell