• Welcome to Drummer Cafe Community Forum.

didgeridoo

Started by Bob Pettit, September 01, 2005, 11:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bob Pettit

I have been playing didg for almost two months now.
I really like it, it makes me feel good.  I  trance out, droning on with the circular breathing. It is relaxing and makes my lip kind of tingle. I like droning mostly, haven't been getting into fancy rythmic type playing, but I do have a variety of drone sounds.

Tonight I played with a friend who has an instrument called a 'hang', pronounced 'hung'. It is a metal thing with holes that looks like a flying saucer or two woks welded together. it sounds like a cross between a udu drum and a steel drum, sort of, it makes a droning sound too that fits well with didg.

It was the first time I really played music with someone on didg.

Any other didg players out there?

Steve Phelps (Shoeless)

I can play but don't do it that much.

I used to know this guy in N. CA. that used to play at an open mic. He'd sit with a couple of mics pointed at him and run it all through multiple effects, delays and I think even an Echoplex. He'd create these huge swirling soundscapes and the audience absolutely loved it.

Mark Schlipper

I don't have the lungs to do it right, but I've been known to do some looping with a didge for texture on recordings.  

If anyone is interested ...  http://www.hang.ch/en/produkt/index.html]the PanArt Hang

windhorse

Well you knew this ol' blowhard couldn't stay away from this question too long..  ;)

Our band's headlining for the second time at Herman's Hideaway tomorrow night. BushTic (guess what you will about the band name, but it actually was made before this president was yet in office)
We're the fourth in a four band line-up.
They think of me mainly as their didjeridu player,, and worry about sound quality, make sure my levels are up for the didj,, but convincing them to think of me as a drummer is going to take a while..  :P